Home » Community, Featured People

Income Generating Project for Yuselfi Elena G. (8) of Barranquilla, Colombia

15 February 2011 2 Comments

My name is Inga Katelari, I live in Cyprus but I originally come from Latvia, the Baltic States. I have a passion for children and I love sponsoring my kids and volunteering at Aura’s House.

I’m currently working on a project for my sponsored girl Yuselfi, age 8, of Barranquilla, Colombia to help her mother to generate the income of washing clothes and renting washing machines.

Yuselfi in her Birthday dress

This project will raise money for two washing machines. The goal is to raise $350 + FirstGiving fees. The total cost of the project is $401 and I will be adding the remaining funds. Please visit Yuselfi’s Fundraising Page and kindly consider donating $1, $5, $10, $25+ or anything you can afford to this worthy cause! I’m hoping to have this completed by the end of April. Every dollar helps me get closer to my goal!  This project will benefit the work of Children International and is fully tax deductible. 100% of your donation will go towards the project. Donating through FirstGiving site is simple, fast and totally secure.

Yuselfi is charming and a bit shy little girl whom I started sponsoring in September 2009. She was featured in the “End the Wait” campaign of Children International; she had been waiting for more than a year to be sponsored. I saw her and immediately felt connected to her. I just couldn’t resist her sad eyes. Yuselfi likes dancing, singing and playing with dolls. Her favorite subjects at school are Mathematics, Religion and Grammar. She wants to become a doctor when she grows up!

Yuselfi Elena G. (8) of Barranquilla, Colombia

Unfortunately, Yuselfi’s housing and living conditions are quite horrible. She lives in a home with 8 other people, including her mother, stepfather, her younger brother and her paternal relatives. The home is made of corrugated metal and concrete for walls with a corrugated metal roof and a dirt floor. They have no bathroom, and she has to use an open field as her sanitary facility. And they don’t even own this place; the home belongs to Yuselfi’s paternal grandmother and Yuselfi’s family has limited rights to this home. And, on top of all that, Yuselfi has to endure recurring conflicts between the members of their extended family whom she’s living with.

Yuselfi’s mom would like to make a new beginning but she has nothing to start from. Currently, the family income is unstable; Yuselfi’s mom is a homemaker and is also washing clothes by hand. The whole family lives on a mere $140 per month. She would like to do more and is in need of two washing machines to be able to wash more clothes and to rent the washing machines on demand. Yuselfi’s mom believes this would bring them an approximate $89 to $111 income per month. She is very interested to provide for Yuselfi’s and her little brother Diego’s education, but in current situation Yuselfi’s mom is so poor to be able to support her children on her own.

Please help me to make Yuselfi’s future brighter through this Income Generating Project!

Many thanks for your support and don’t forget to forward this to anyone who you think might want to donate too!

2 Comments »

  • Heather said:

    best of luck with this Inga! 🙂

  • Inga (author) said:

    Thank you so much Heather! 🙂

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.

*
To prove you're a person (not a spam script), type the security word shown in the picture. Click on the picture to hear an audio file of the word.
Anti-spam image